

## UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

District of Rhode Island

## UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE WILLIAM E. SMITH TO TAKE SENIOR STATUS JANUARY 1, 2025

The Honorable William E. Smith of the United States District Court of the District of Rhode Island has advised President Joseph R. Biden, Jr. he will become a Senior Judge on January 1, 2025. Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 371, an Article III judge or justice may take senior status after attaining the age and meeting the service requirements of the "Rule of Eighty."

Judge Smith was nominated by George W. Bush on July 18, 2002, to a seat vacated by the Honorable Ronald R. Lagueux. He was confirmed by the Senate on November 14, 2002, and received his commission on November 15, 2002. He served as chief judge for the district from December 1, 2013, through November 30, 2019.

Judge Smith will continue to render substantial judicial service to the Court as a senior judge. In addition to maintaining a docket of civil cases, he will stay actively involved in settlement work, and sit by designation in other districts and circuits as needed.

Chief Judge McConnell notes, "on behalf of my colleagues, I want to thank Judge Smith for his dedication and service to Rhode Island and the judiciary. His pronounced focus on innovation and fairness is woven into the fabric of this district. His leadership and temperament are second to none and he has made the practice before this court an enjoyable and rewarding experience for members of the bar. We are grateful he will continue to serve the district as a senior judge, and personally I am honored to be his colleague and friend."

Judge Smith's decision to take senior status creates the opportunity for the appointment of an additional United States District Judge for the District of Rhode Island.

Judge Smith received his law degree from the Georgetown University Law Center in 1987 and his bachelor's degree from Georgetown University in 1982. In addition to Judge William E. Smith, the Court is comprised of Chief Judge John J. McConnell, Jr., Judge Mary S. McElroy, Magistrate Judge Lincoln D. Almond, and Magistrate Judge Patricia A. Sullivan.

June 28, 2023

Hanorah Tyer-Witek Clerk of Court